Current - Benjamin F. Tillman, M.D.  Benjamin F. Tillman, M.D.

Benjamin F. Tillman, M.D. is Assistant Professor of Medicine within the Division of Hematology and Oncology.  He obtained his medical degree from the University of Mississippi and B.A., - German from the Millsaps College.  Dr. Tillman completed internship and residency training, including a year as Chief Resident in Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt where he stayed to complete a clinical fellowship in Hematology and Oncology.  He then joined the faculty in 2019.


Former Presidents

2018-2019- Michael J. Fowler, M.D.

Michael J. Fowler, M.D. Associate Professor, Director, Vanderbilt Diabetes Outreach, Course Director, Physical Diagnosis, and Co-Director, Shade Tree Clinic. He obtained his medical degree from the East Tennessee State University. Dr. Fowler completed internship and residency at East Tennessee State University's James H. Quillen College of Medicine.  Following residency, he completed a Endocrinology, Diabetes, & Metabolism fellowship at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.  He joined the Diabetes, Endocrinology, & Metabolism faculty.


2016-2017- Cecelia N. Theobald, M.D., M.P.H.

Cecelia N. Theobald, M.D. M.P.H., is Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine within the Division of General Internal Medicine & Public Health. She received her undergraduate degree in Spanish and Biology from the University of Richmond and obtained her medical degree from the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond.  Dr. Theobald completed internship and residency training, including a year as Chief Resident, in Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt.  Following residency, she completed both a Quality Scholars fellowship at the Nashville VA and received her Masters in Public Health from Vanderbilt University.  She then joined the faculty in General Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt in 2014 and serves as co-Course Director of Foundations in Health Care Delivery, a medical school course focused on teaching health systems science longitudinally.  Her research and teaching interests focus on improving the safety of care transitions, teaching quality improvement skills and helping providers integrate evidence-based medicine into bedside care. She has been recognized for excellence in teaching ambulatory medicine as well as for her work evaluating the implementation of various improvement initiatives.

2014-2015- David M. Aronoff, M.D.

David M. Aronoff, MD is the Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases within the Department of Medicine at Vanderbilt University. He received his undergraduate degree in Microbiology from Indiana University and obtained his Medical Degree at Tufts University in Boston. Dr. Aronoff completed internship and residency training, including a year as Chief Resident, in Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt, where he stayed to complete a clinical fellowship in Infectious Diseases and a research fellowship in Clinical Pharmacology. He then joined the faculty in Infectious Diseases at the University of Michigan where he also completed a research postdoctoral fellowship in Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Aronoff remained at the University of Michigan until 2013, rising to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure in the Departments of Internal Medicine and Microbiology & Immunology. He returned to Vanderbilt in October, 2013 as Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases. 

2012-2013- Clifton K. Meador and Roman E. Perri, Co-presidents

2012 - Clifton K. Meador, M.D., professor of Medicine, Emeritus

Dr. Meador received his M.D. from VUSM in 1955, sharing the Founder’s Medal for top scholastic honors with a classmate. He returned to Vanderbilt as a full-time faculty member in 1973 and started the Vanderbilt teaching program in medicine at Saint Thomas Hospital and served as chief medical officer of the hospital. In 1999, he was recruited to be the executive director of the Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance and served with distinction in that role until his retirement.

2012 - Roman E. Perri, M.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine

Dr. Perri received his undergraduate training from the University of Wisconsin (1995) and medical degree from the University of Wisconsin Medical School, 1999. He completed his residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Internal Medicine in 2002 and completed fellowships in both Gastroenterology/Hepatology and Transplant Medicine. He served in Hepatology at the Mayo Clinic College in Rochester, MN in 2006. Dr. Perri joined Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in 2006 and is currently the Director of Hepatology Education and the Director of Hepatology Outreach.

2010 - Anderson Spickard, III

M.D., M.S., B.A. at University of North Carolina, 1985, M.D. at Vanderbilt, 1989, Internship & Residency at University of Washington, 1989-1993, Chief Medical Resident, University of Washington, 1992-1993, Felllowship, University of Virginia SOM, 1993-1995.

2008 - R. Seth Cooper

BS at LSU 1967 ; MD at LSU, 1971; HS 1971-74, Vanderbilt Chief Resident 1974-75; Univ of Rochester in NY, Hematology Fellow 1975-76 and Vanderbilt Hematology Fellow 1976-77.

2006 - Margaret Brennan

Vanderbilt M.D. 1981, Housestaff 1982-1984, Vanderbilt Chief Resident 1985-1986

2004 - Taylor Wray

Housestaff 1966-1967 and 1969-1973, Cardiology Fellow 1972-1974

2002 - John Johnson

Vanderbilt B.A. 1957, M.D. 1961, Housestaff 1961-1962

2000 - James Sullivan

Vanderbilt M.D. 1974, Housestaff 1974-1976, Nashville General Chief Resident 1979-1980

1998 - Robert Alford

Vanderbilt B.A. 1958, M.D. 1961, Housestaff 1966-1967

1995 - John Sergent

Vanderbilt B.A. 1963, M.D. 1966, Housestaff 1970-1971, Vanderbilt Chief Resident 1971-1972

1992 - Lawrence Wolfe

Vanderbilt B.A. 1957, M.D. 1960, Housestaff 1960-1962,Vanderbilt Chief Resident 1963-1964, Endocrine Fellow 1964-1966