Nutrition and Metabolic Disease 


The Vanderbilt Obesity Medicine Clinical Fellowship program was begun by Drs. Gitanjali Srivastava and Kevin Niswender in 2019.

Over the past several years our institution has engaged in thoughtful introspection and strategic planning and have identified obesity as a major area of institutional focus given the magnitude of the problem in the Southeast and in our patient population. As a leading academic Medical Center, we increasingly sense the opportunity to develop and implement obesity and metabolic health solutions at the individual patient, community, and the population level to impact the health of the communities we care for. VUMC has a tremendous breadth and depth of clinical and research obesity expertise, and we are now poised to focus these resources in the training of world class Obesity Medicine specialists. It is in this context that we are wholly committed, as a pillar of our efforts to address obesity in our region, to an Obesity Medicine Fellowship. This commitment is also consistent with our academic mission to teach, perform research, and deliver outstanding clinical care and will extend our impact across our network by training and retaining the next generation of Obesity Medicine physician leaders.

Current Leadership

powers photo
Division Chief 
Alvin C. Powers, MD 

Program Director 
Gitanjali Srivastava, MD


Kevin D. Niswender, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Program Director 
Kevin Niswender, MD, PhD


bradley photo
Assistant Program Director
Founder, Obesity Medicine Program at VA-Nashville

Anna Beth Bradley, MD


Core Faculty

Gitanjali Srivastava, MD

Kevin Niswender, MD, MPH 

Barbara Gisella Carranza-Leon, MD


Ancillary Faculty 

Bariatric Surgery:

Matthew Drake Spann, MD

Wayne Joseph English, MD


Pediatric Obesity:

Ashley Shoemaker, MD

Tamasyn A. Nelson, MD


Development Biology, Molecular biology & biophysics:

William E. Russell, MD

James M. May, MD

Charles R. Flynn, PhD


Public Health:

Rosette J. Chakkalakal, MD, MHS


Quality Improvement:

Chase D. Hendrickson, MD, MPH


Internal Medicine/Pediatrics:

Russell L. Rothman, MD, MPP

William J. Heerman, MD, MPH


Primary Care:

Tony L. Ross, MD


Program manager

Jasmyne Mitchell