Office Address:
1161 21st Avenue South, Medical Center North, Room / Suite T-3113, Nashville, TN 37232-2681

Professor of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology

Wilson Family Chair in Medicine

Professor of Medicine

Research Description

Inflammatory arthritis, including rheumatoid arthritis, is a systemic disease causing pain, fatigue, disability, and early mortality. Clinical expression of systemic autoimmune inflammatory arthritis is associated with activation of innate and acquired immune systems. In addition to the local effects of synovitis, systemic effects include skeletal muscle dysfunction likely mediated by pro-inflammatory cytokines. Our research focuses on the role of prostaglandins and other lipid mediators in mediating innate immune functions and the transition from innate to acquired immunity. We also are involved with the intersection of inflammation and pain in patients with rheumatic diseases. Finally, we have focused on the systemic effects of inflammatory arthritis on skeletal muscle function.