Vanderbilt University Medical Center Transplant Program

Welcome to Our Family!

The Vanderbilt Transplant Center is a leading provider of organ transplantation in the Southeast, giving hundreds of people new hope and longer life each year.

The Transplant Nephrology Fellowship is designed to provide a comprehensive experience in the pre-and post-operative care of the transplant patient. This is a 1-yer program accredited by the American Society of Transplantation. Upon completion of the training, the fellow will be a UNOS-certified transplant nephrologist. 

Our program is one of the largest in the country, with over 320 kidney transplants performed last year, including simultaneous pancreas-kidney, heart-kidney, and liver-kidney transplants. Vanderbilt is top 5 in the country in the number of solid organ transplants performed annually, having robust kidney, heart, liver, and lung transplant programs. In addition, our center has an established record in organ donation and has obtained Platinum Recognition, the highest possible level of achievement, from the National Hospital Organ Donation Campaign of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). 

The fellowship program includes a six-month inpatient clinical experience. The trainee will manage kidney transplant recipients as the primary caregiver in both in- and outpatient settings and perform donor evaluations and pre-transplant recipient evaluations. There are also six months of elective time, including rotations through transplant pathology, tissue typing, organ bank activities, non-kidney solid organs transplantation, pediatric kidney transplantation, and clinical research. 

In addition to these clinical and research activities, the training program includes a Journal Club, weekly Transplant Research Conference, weekly Transplant Patient Conference, monthly Renal Transplant Biopsy Conference, and other didactic activities in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension. The trainee will also participate in Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) meetings and have an opportunity to complete a Transplant Administration course to learn about quality, regulatory, and financial aspects of kidney transplantation. 

        

 

We are now accepting applications for our Transplant Fellowship for July 2023-2024 

                 

Application Instructions:

Please provide your CV, personal statement, and two letters of recommendation via email to lindsey.schindler@vumc.org or mail to Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Renal Transplant Fellowship, Att: Lindsey Schindler, 1161 21st Ave. S., MCN S-3307, Nashville, TN 37232.

*Please note that we sponsor both J and H visas.

 

 

 

Meet our Team:

Saed Shawar, MBBS

Saed H. Shawar, MBBS
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Program Director,
Kidney-Pancreas Transplant Program
saed.h.shawar@vumc.org 

Kelly A. Birdwell, MD, MSCI
Assistant Professor of Medicine
kelly.birdwell@vumc.org

Beatrice P. Concepcion, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Medical Director,
Kidney-Pancreas Transplant Program
beatrice.p.concepcion@vumc.org

Dr. Helderman

J. Harlod Helderman, MD, FASN, FAST
Professor of Medicine
hal.helderman@vumc.org

Dr. Ikizler

Talat Alp Ikizler, MD
Professor of Medicine
alp.ikizler@vumc.org

Dr. Langone

Anthony J. Langone, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
anthony.langone@vumc.org

Dr. Schaefer

Heidi M. Schaefer, MD
Professor of Medicine
heidi.schaefer@vumc.org

Bonnie Ann Sarrell, MD

Bonnie Ann Sarrell, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Bonnie.a.sarrell@vumc.org

 

 

Current Fellows:

Laura Binari, MD

Laura Binari, MD
Clinical Fellow Instructor
laura.a.binari@vumc.org

Kazem Fallahzadeh, MD

Kazem Fallahzadeh, MD
Clinical Fellow Instructor
kazem.fallahzadeh@vumc.org