Mar 17, 2023

The Department of Medicine is excited to announce the results of the 2023 National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) Match. 

The Internal Medicine Residency Program successfully matched its full allotment of 45 categorical residents, which includes seven American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM)/Harrison Society Research Pathway residents, and five preliminary interns. In addition, in collaboration with the departments of Pediatrics, Neurology and Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (PM&R), the department recruited six Medicine-Pediatrics residents, seven Neurology residents and four PM&R residents. In total, the department interviewed nearly 500 students from a pool of more than 3,300 applicants. 

“It was another great recruiting season, and as a result, our residency continues to be one of the most competitive internal medicine programs in the country,” said John McPherson, MD, Professor of Medicine (Cardiovascular Medicine) and Vice Chair for Education, Department of Medicine. “We could not be more pleased with this year’s results!” 

The incoming Internal Medicine class is comprised of seven MD/PhDs, six Vanderbilt University School of Medicine graduates, and at least 17 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society members. In addition, 28 (60%) of the incoming class are female, and 10 (22%) self-identify as underrepresented in medicine, making the 2023-2024 residents the most diverse cohort in the program’s 98-year history. 

The 2023 matched residents, expected to join the Department of Medicine in July 2023, are provided below.


  • Wrinn Alexander, University of Tennessee
  • Juan Armstrong, Mercer University
  • Meridith Balbach, Vanderbilt University
  • Madison Bandler, Southern Illinois University
  • Marjorie Butler, Vanderbilt University
  • Chloe Carr, Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • Lizbet Chavez Marin, Nova Southeastern University
  • Ashley Ciosek, University of Texas Southwestern
  • Alexander DeWeerd, Florida State University
  • Taylar Dickson, Michigan State University
  • Leonie Dupuis, University of Central Florida
  • Shabnam Eghbali, Weill Cornell
  • Lale Ertuglu, Koc Universitesi Tip Fakultesi
  • Sarah Fittro, University of Alabama
  • Matt Gayoso, Vanderbilt University
  • Rachel Gorham, University of Texas Austin
  • Alex Goss, Vanderbilt University
  • Sims Hershey, Emory University
  • Geonte Jackson, McGovern Medical School
  • Phoebe Jin, University of Florida
  • Faria Khimani, Texas Christian University
  • Tyler Klee, University of Arizona
  • Roman Kovtun, University of Utah
  • Jacob Lee, University of Missouri - Columbia
  • Allie Lenyo, Washington University St. Louis
  • Emily Lovern, Emory University
  • Marc Maldaver, Michigan State University
  • Sally Momoh, West Virginia University
  • Melanie Naranjo, Florida International University
  • Anh Nguyen, Univeristy of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Kian Rahbari, Northwestern University
  • Alexa Serino, USF Health Morsani
  • Lamiya Tauhid, LSU - New Orleans
  • Lindsey Taylor, Nova Southeastern University
  • Trevor Thompson, Meharry Medical College
  • Kelly Vogel, Northwestern University
  • Aaron (AJ) Winer, University of Florida
  • Morgan Zenner, University of Illinois 

ABIM/Harrison Society 

  • Tina Arkee, University of Iowa
  • Whitney Barham, Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine - Rochester
  • Jake Bourgeois, Tufts University
  • Rachel Brown, Vanderbilt University
  • Nike Izmaylov, Vanderbilt University
  • Michael McHenry, Case Western Reserve
  • Jacob Pruett, University of Mississippi 


  • Curtis Bethel, University of Kentucky
  • Shane Carr, Vanderbilt University
  • Betsy Crosswhite, University of Mississippi
  • William Quach, Vanderbilt University
  • Laurie Temiz, Meharry Medical College Medicine-Pediatrics
  • Seth Alexander, University of North Carolina
  • Manasa Atyam, Baylor College
  • Mackenzie Barker, Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • Whitney George, Vanderbilt University
  • Hannah Kieffer, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Sindhu Manivasagam, Washington University St. Louis


  • Winston Bell, Tufts University
  • Madelyn Bollig, Northwestern University
  • Hannah Branstetter, University of Florida
  • Talia Cao, Creighton University
  • Anjali Kamath , University of Alabama
  • Nicholas Mallett, Wake Forest University
  • Phil Schmitt, University of Louisville 


  • Gary Allen, East Carolina University
  • Kevin Gilbert, University of California, San Diego
  • Kelly Michanczyk, Louisiana State University New Orleans
  • Austin Sturdivant, University of Tennessee 

To view/download the 2023 Match composite, click here.