The goal of the Neilson Society is to support the careers of junior PhD and physician scientists on the tenure track as they develop their independent research careers and national reputations.

Neilson Society Structure:

Interim Chair of Medicine: W. Kimryn Rathmell, MD, PhD
Vice Chair for Faculty Development: Mark P. de Caestecker, MBBS, PhD

Membership eligibility: All Assistant Professors and Associate Professors of Medicine on the tenure track, basic and physician scientists involved in basic, translation, epidemiological and clinical science research.

The Neilson Society is a resource for junior faculty to help them to develop the skills needed to navigate the course toward tenure and promotion. The Society coordinates small discussion groups amongst junior faculty members, and holds group meetings with the Vice Chair for Faculty Development throughout the year to discuss issues relevant to basic scientist and physician scientist career development. In addition the Vice Chair is available for individual mentoring sessions and career counseling. Please see contact information.

Activities of the Neilson Society are complementary to and coordinated with other VUMC and VU organizations and societies involved in junior faculty development. This includes the Newman Society, which supports Basic Scientists and Physician Scientist Assistant Professors funded by Career Development Awards.

"Dr. Mark de Caestecker"

Mark P. de Caestecker, MBBS, PhD, FASN
Vice Chair for Faculty Development
Professor of Medicine, Cell and Developmental Biology, and Surgery
Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
1161 21st Avenue South

Contact number: (615) 343 2844